Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Ambiguity in a Box

So, I didn't think it was possible, but apparently there was a box around the vary ambiguous essay we had to write for English 150 this year. Unfortunately for me there was a box and being the brilliant first year student I am, I found it. And then jumped out of it, and kept running.
I was under the impression that the only thing we needed to do was research, and write on something we did in class. Which I did. The only thing was that I also wrote on several pieces of literature we didn't study in class. That seems okay, right? I mean, I'm taking the initiative to work with not just the stuff presented in class, but also work from the last three years of my life.
For my effort in adding in additional works by the same author I got penalized 10% for including work we did not study in class that was not a secondary source.
In my own opinion my essay was pretty good, although maybe a bit on the wordy side. I didn't think that would matter instead I was informed: "your answer was vague and hard to understand." Again I would like to point out that I somehow managed to find the box around a completely ambiguous topic that she described basically as "write whatever you want".
Walls! I have found walls! Limitations to untold creativity and intense potential! She is trying to sabotage me! *Confetti*
Yes, I tore the essay up, all ten pages of it, and threw it out without concerning myself too much about what she thought of my writing. The point for me was that she had written 65% on it as my final grade. Then she crossed that out and put 55% on it instead. So I passed. That's really all that matters because I am NEVER taking English again so long as I don't have to.
Let me take a moment to clarify something. I love ambiguity. I love when things are vaguely worded  and I am given free reign to discover and explore. That's how I came up with the topic. I was flipping through the extravagantly large book of poetry going "what am I going to write about?" when I landed on a collections of Shakespeare's sonnets.
I will write about Shakespeare! I love Shakespeare! I thoroughly enjoyed reading the sonnets, and several of the plays and there is a lot of similarities in both works. So I wrote and wrote and wrote, and a week later, just in time for the due date, I had my essay. It was pretty good. Not my best, but that's what I get for doing it completely last minute.
So, if she doesn't like it, that's fine by me. I put her evaluation where I think it belongs.
In the trash.

Monday, April 13, 2009

Another hundred pages of Twilight

So, I'm another hundred pages into Twilight, and I will confess that it is not a bad book. I don't have a lot to rant about, except the continued over description of Edward and the fact that I don't think any girl would actually tell a guy that he dazzles her, let alone do it twice. But the conversation flows a lot better than in some stories. The description of the more tedious moments in Bella's day seem to act only as padding for the story to bump it over 400 pages. We hear about eating, and homework, and falling asleep and class and all the stuff that is distinctly not interesting.
But Bella is a character that you can relate to, especially if you're as much of a klutz as I am. The tense discussions between her and Edward could be any girl and the guys he likes so much she doesn't want to tell him in case he doesn't feel the same and she ruins the friendship. I've reached the point where Edward is talking about the reason he can't go out in the sun. One would expect something that has ANY context to actual vampire myth. I already know that he sparkles in the sun and I am mentally preparing myself to groan and roll my eyes when I get to that point of the story. I refuse to fall in love with Edward and my vampire hero is still Angel from the Buffy/Angel series. I still think that, although Robert Pattinson is very attractive, he was significantly better looking in Harry Potter as Cedric.
Also, the stalking thing is worrisome. This guy is fast becoming every girl's knight in shining armor. From pre-teens onwards, it seems like Edward is becoming the role model for boyfriends everywhere. But his basically admits to stalking her, following her through the thoughts of others. Stalking is one of those things you don't need to experience to know it's not romantic or in anyway acceptable. No girl would want a guy to follow her around all the time, calling her continuously, or knowing her every move. Yet everyone loves Edward, despite he seems to be verging on creepy stalker status. So, it shall be seen whether or not he redeems himself or gets worse with this not so appealing tendency.
So far, actually enjoying the book, but it's not so good I can't put it down and do something else, or HAVE to read it all the time.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

What I think so far

So, I started reading Twilight today, and I can say by the fact that I'm already over a hundred pages in that it's not nearly as bad as I thought. Stephanie Meyers is not a bad writer, but please note I said 'not bad' instead of 'good'. She completely over describes Edward, and in my opinion it gets pushy, like you MUST believe that Edward is truly and wonderfully amazing and beautiful, and it quickly gets irritating. I got it the first time that Bella said that he was perfect, I don't need it reiterated every couple sentences. It doesn't help that she's obviously got a thesaurus handy so she can find every possible synonym for Beautiful there is and avoid simple repetition in her description. She over describes everything about him.
But I do get, to a point, where Bella is coming from with her obsession for Edward. I'm also glad that she points out how stupid and pitiful it is. I have, on occasion, found myself obsession over guys. I get caught up in their looks and their charm, but Bella becomes down right stupid around him. Again, Meyers takes great lengths in pointing this out, and describing the breathless sensation that over comes Bella every time she looks at Edward, even though he pisses her off.
And we're back to his impossible good looks. He's SO handsome that he makes Bella forget that she's pissed off at him. I don't know, but no matter how good looking a guy is, he becomes instantly less attractive if he's an asshole. In a lot of the situations where Bella says that her anger "faded into awed gratitude (70)" I just roll my eyes. If he's going to be a jerk about it, it would take longer than over night for me to stop being pissed at him.
I'm only a hundred pages in, so we'll see how my opinion forms, but so far its not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Although, the first time Edward sparkles I might just give up.